Skip to main content

Teatro Carlo Felice Orchestra

The Final Round of the 57th edition of the Competition in October 2023 will take place in two successive stages. A maximum of six candidates will be admitted to Stage A (selected at the end of the Semi-Final Round) and a maximum of three candidates to Stage B (selected at the end of the Final Round A). Both phases of the Final Round will be accompanied by the Teatro Carlo Felice Orchestra whose history begins in the early 1900s. Its symphonic and opera activity, which not even the bombings of 1943, with the destruction of the old Teatro Carlo Felice, were able to interrupt, has been continuous ever since. In 1965, the Orchestra became organically structured, began to evolve, developing a repertoire that now ranged from the 17th century to contemporary music, and established itself among the prominent realities of the national scene, distinguishing itself for its productivity and versatility.  Since the 1950s, internationally renowned conductors have taken the podium, including Victor De Sabata, Igor Stravinsky, Franco Capuana, Sergiu Celibidache, Hermann Scherchen, Claudio Abbado, Carlo Maria Giulini, Riccardo Muti, Georges Prêtre, Mstislav Rostropovič, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, Daniel Oren, Antonio Pappano, Christian Thielemann, Daniele Gatti, Gennadij Roždestvenskij, Bruno Campanella, Zubin Mehta, Nello Santi, Sir Neville Marriner, Kyrill Petrenko, Hartmut Haenchen, Vladimir Fedoseev, Andrea Battistoni, Fabio Luisi (honorary conductor), Donato Renzetti (emeritus conductor). Since 2022, Riccardo Minasi has been its Music Director.

Since 1992, the 'Premio Paganini' International Violin Competition has been held in the renovated Carlo Felice Opera House, which was inaugurated that year.